CXO, Events>Awards, Featured
Tim Berners-Lee

Sir Tim Berners-Lee to Be Honored at MassTLC Awards

The organization’s highest honor, the Commonwealth Award, will be presented to Professor Sir Timothy Berners-Lee, inventor of the World Wide Web, for a lifetime of commitment to technology innovation.

Tim Berners-Lee created the naming scheme (URLs), communications protocol (HTTP), language for webpages (HTML), and first web server and browser. He founded the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) for standards and the World Wide Web Foundation for digital equality. He is the 3Com Founders Professor of Engineering at the Laboratory for Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence (CSAIL) at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Berners-Lee was honored by the Queen with a knighthood in 2004, and he received the 2016 A.M. Turing Award, considered the Nobel Prize for computing. MassTLC is proud to recognize his achievements as an inspiration to technology leaders who follow in his footsteps.

“It’s hard to imagine the world today without the Web,” said Tom Hopcroft, president and CEO of MassTLC. “The tech industry, and the world, owe a debt of gratitude to Sir Tim Berners-Lee for his vision of a more open and accessible World Wide Web. Like so many before him, his fundamental contributions, build upon and continue an evolution of innovation that has redefined the world. And, his commitment to openness and equality is ensuring that the benefits are shared widely.”

In its 20th year, the Annual Mass Technology Leadership Awards are known as the Academy Awards for Tech in Massachusetts. The 2017 Awards Gala will be held on September 14 at the Seaport World Trade Center Boston. At the Gala, MassTLC will present special awards to Melissa James and the MIT App Inventor team, as well as naming winners in 14 additional award categories including: CEO of the Year, CTO of the Year, Emerging Executive of the Year, Company of the Year, Emerging Company of the Year, Building a Better Workforce, Cutting Edge Technology of the Year, Technology for a Better Tomorrow, and Innovative Technology of the Year awards for Consumer Tech, Financial Tech, IoT, Robotics, Security, and Sales & Marketing. See all our Award Finalists.

Reserve your table/seat at the Awards Gala on Thursday, September 14, 2017, at the World Trade Center Boston. Details and registration.


Upcoming Events


Related Articles