Affectiva, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, Dr. Rana el Kaliouby, MassTLC Board of Trustees, Stephanie Browne

Senior Executives from Affectiva and Blue Cross Blue Shield of MA join MassTLC Board of Trustees

Thursday, June 3, 2021, Lexington, MA.  The MassTLC Board of Trustees welcomed two Massachusetts tech leaders – Dr. Rana el Kaliouby, Co-Founder and CEO of emotion AI company, Affectiva, and Stephanie Browne, Vice President of Talent Acquisition and Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts.

“I could not be happier to have Rana and Stephanie as Trustees of the Council. Their experience and guidance will be a huge asset not only for myself and our team, but for the entire MassTLC network,” remarked MassTLC CEO Tom Hopcroft. “MassTLC’s mission to accelerate innovation, growth and an inclusive tech ecosystem, and the composition and strength of our Board of Trustees is instrumental in shaping how we support our members and the greater tech community in fulfilling that mission.”

The MassTLC Board of Trustees is currently 45% female and 26% tech leaders of color. It represents Presidents, CEOs, CTOs, COOs, CHROs/CPOs, and other functional roles, and a variety of ages, company stages and customer segments. In terms of board refreshment, over half (53%) of the existing trustees are new to the board within the past five years.

“Building a diverse tech workforce is a business imperative,” remarked Affectiva Co-Founder and CEO Dr. Rana el Kaliouby. “I am excited to bring my passion and expertise to work with MassTLC’s diverse board on impactful initiatives to accelerate change in the tech industry.”

“I am excited to join a group of dedicated leaders who volunteer their talents to create an innovative, diverse Massachusetts technology community,” said Stephanie Browne, Vice President Talent Acquisition, Diversity & Inclusion, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts.

The new trustees join a board representing the region’s top tech leadership:

  • Mohamad Ali, CEO, IDG (International Data Group)
  • Kimberly Anstett, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Iron Mountain
  • Lynda Applegate, Sarofim-Rock Professor of Business Administration and Chair of the Executive Education Programs for Business Owners & Entrepreneurs, Harvard Business School
  • Kirk Arnold, Executive in Residence, General Catalyst
  • Sean Belka, Managing Director, Corporate Development, Fidelity Investments
  • Firdaus Bhathena, Chief Digital Officer, CVS Health
  • Tye Brady, Chief Technologist, Amazon Robotics
  • Dan Bricklin, President, Software Garden
  • Carla Brodley, Dean, Khoury College of Computer Sciences, Northeastern University
  • Steve Conine, Co-Chairman & Co-Founder, Wayfair
  • Jim Daniell, Founder and CEO, Revol LLC
  • Craig Dillon, Worldwide Lead, Microsoft Technology Centers, Microsoft
  • Renee Foster, Former President, Curriculum Associates
  • Brittany Greenfield, Founder & CEO, Wabbi
  • Yogesh Gupta, President & CEO, Progress Software
  • Jim Heppelmann, President & CEO, PTC
  • Sam King, CEO, Veracode
  • Mike Kinkead, Entrepreneur/Advisor, Green Swan Enterprises
  • Dave Krupinski, Co-Founder,
  • Donna Levin, CEO, Arthur M. Blank School for Entrepreneurial Leadership, Babson College
  • Jack Little, President & CEO, Mathworks
  • Matthew Littlewood, Partner, PWC
  • Suzanne Livingston, Engineering Director, IBM
  • Mark Lorion, CEO, Tempo Software
  • Steve O’Leary, Former Managing Director, Aeris Partners
  • Nathan Pham, State Government Affairs, Verizon
  • Pam Reeve, Chair, Commonwealth Institute
  • Derek Schoettle, Growth Partner, Great Hill Partners
  • Marnie Seif, Chief People Officer and Chief Legal Officer, Analog Devices
  • Debbie Theobald, Co-Founder, Vecna Technologies; Executive Director, Vecna Cares
  • Corey Thomas, President & CEO, Rapid7
  • Sophie Vandebroek, Director, Idexx Laboratories and Wolters Kluwer
  • Anthony Williams, EVP and Chief Human Resources Officer, Akamai Technologies
  • Tracey Zhen, President, Zipcar

Officers were also elected, including Zipcar President Tracey Zhen, as incoming Co-Chair to serve a two-year term alongside Progress President and CEO Yogesh Gupta, who’s term ends in 2022. Also elected was PTC President and CEO, Jim Heppelmann as Secretary and PWC Partner Matthew Littlewood as Treasurer.

About the Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc.

The Mass Technology Leadership Council (MassTLC) is the region’s leading technology association and the premier network for tech executives, entrepreneurs, investors and policy leaders. MassTLC’s mission is to accelerate innovation, growth, and the development of an inclusive tech ecosystem in Massachusetts. We do this by connecting people from across the technology landscape, providing access to industry-leading content and ideas and offering a platform for our members to advance their collective interests. More at

Upcoming Events


Related Articles