Award, MassTLC

2011 Mass Technology Leadership Awards Gala: Spotlighting Innovation & Leadership in Massachusetts


Technology Pioneer A. Neil Pappalardo, Meditech; Patrick Larkin, John Adams Innovation Institute; FIRST Robotics and Microsoft New England Research and Development Center Recognized for Industry Leadership

BOSTON, October 6, 2011 – The Mass Technology Leadership Council, the foremost business association that addresses the critical leadership issues of innovative technology and technology-enabled companies announced the winners of the 14th annual Mass Technology Leadership Awards at a gala event last night at the Seaport Hotel in Boston. Pegasystems CEO and Founder Alan Trefler and Bluesocket President and CEO Mads Lillelund, took the top honors in the CEO of the Year categories, with Trefler recognized for his accomplishments as Public Company CEO of the Year and Lillelund for his achievements as Private Company CEO. Leading the Company of the Year categories, Analog Devices and Wayfair, formerly known as CSN Stores took the top prizes as Public Company of the Year and Private Company of the Year respectively. In a special live audience vote, Myomo won Product of the Year.

This year’s event showcased the depth and breadth of the state’s vibrant technology ecosystem, with nominees in a wide array of technologies. “The richness of the burgeoning technology industry in Massachusetts was on full display tonight,” said Tom Hopcroft, President and CEO of the Council. “With leaders from early to established companies representing mobile, energy, health IT, and other important sectors, the Mass Technology Leadership Awards continue to spotlight and inspire the best our sector has to offer.”
500 senior executives filled the waterfront hotel’s ballroom to celebrate the presentation of the awards, and in a demonstration of the power of using technology real time, audience members used their mobile devices to vote via text message for Product of the Year.

The Council also bestowed four special honors for leadership in the Massachusetts technology community. Those awardees were:

Commonwealth Award: A. Neil Pappalardo, technology pioneer and Chairman & CEO of MEDITECH;
Policy Leader of the Year: Patrick Larkin, Director, John Adams Innovation Institute of the Massachusetts Technology Collaborative;
Workforce Development Leader: US FIRST, a world-renowned program that helps young people discover and develop a passion for science, engineering, technology, and math; and
Innovation Catalyst: Microsoft’s New England Research and Development Center (NERD)

“These special honors shine a light on individuals and organizations that play a key role in helping the industry thrive and inspire tomorrow’s leaders,” said Heather Johnson, Senior Vice President of the Council. “This year’s winners truly personify the spirit of innovation and leadership that continues to inspire the future of our sector and will help the industry reach new levels of success in the years to come.”

The winners, selected from the more than 200 nominees in all other categories are:

CEO of the Year, Private Company: Mads Lillelund, President & CEO, Bluesocket, Inc.
CEO of the Year, Public Company: Alan Trefler, CEO and Founder, Pegasystems
CIO of the Year: Bill Scudder, CIO, Sonus Networks
Emerging Executive of the Year: Tracy Rosenthal-Newsom, Vice President of Production, Harmonix Music Systems
Private Company of the Year: Wayfair, formerly known as CSN Stores
Public Company of the Year: Analog Devices
Deal of the Year: ITA Software
Product of the Year: Myomo

A committee of Council Trustees, local thought leaders and media were involved with the selection process for the nominees and, with the exception of Product of the Year (selected by live vote at the event), chose the winners in each category. For a full list of nominees in each category, go to https://mtlc.co/2011awardsfinalists.html.

MassTLC wishes to give special thanks to the sponsors of the Awards Program: Microsoft, Oracle, pwc, Silicon Valley Bank, CA Technologies, Greeberg Traurig, KSquare Law, and Sprint.

Upcoming Events


Related Articles